top of page

Solar Plexus Chakra

Chakras are circular energy centers. They work with the life force, or Prana, in your body. There are 7 different chakra points along your spine. If the energy is blocked or disrupted along a specific chakra point, it can show up within you as physical or mental ailments.

Understanding the symptoms of an overactive, underactive, and balanced chakra can allow us to pinpoint which of our energy centers needs attention.

The seven chakras are Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown.


Details about each chakra are important and understanding each one in more depth will give you a better understanding of areas in your life and within your body that you can work on.

Today I will be focusing on the Solar Plexus chakra.

The Solar Plexus chakra’s element is Fire, its color is Yellow, and it is located about three fingers above the naval.

If it is underactive, you may feel:

· low self-esteem

· worthlessness

· lack of clear direction

· lack of ambition

· control issues

· guilty

If it is overactive, you may be:

· a workaholic

· a perfectionist

· overly demanding

· overly concerned with power and recognition

· resentful

If it is balanced, you will have:

· a strong sense of identity

· confidence in yourself and your abilities

· motivation and self-discipline to turn your thoughts into actions


I have had a tremendous opening and balancing of my solar plexus chakra within the last week. While I was in LA, my friend, Yasmeen, asked if she could read a guided meditation for me. She felt called to read one about the Solar Plexus chakra. While in this meditation, I had very strong visualizations (I am not a very visual thinker, so this is rare). My body was swaying constantly (usually I meditate in complete stillness). And the visions I was having were directly correlated to what she was reading (but I would envision them before she read them).


For example, I first visualized myself dancing in a field of flowers and I turned to the sun so I could feel it directly on my face. As I was basking in the sun, Yasmeen read, “We move and dance, pleasure singing through us…We call upon the Self to awaken the sun”*. I then saw myself turn into a soul; I was no longer in physical human form. I was floating in the air and then transformed into a dove. I then trans mutated back into a human form but I wasn’t “me”, I was “we”. I felt as though all human life was within this form. I then began to flash black and white – light and dark. To me, darkness represents the shadow self – the part of us that we try to hide away because we may be ashamed or may not like those parts of ourselves. The flashing indicated that I was becoming one with my shadow self – my light and my darkness were merging and accepting each other. As this was happening, she read, “We pass between the pillars of light and dark, honoring both…and find ourselves in a new and glorious land.”*

The visualizations I had were projected outwards – almost like I was watching a movie. At one point she said, “Feel this energy deep within your body…feel it pushing deep into the Earth.”* At this moment, the visualization went from outside my head to inside my body (my stomach to be exact). I could see the entire vision (me dancing in the field, transforming from human to soul to dove to human, flashing light and dark, etc) inside my stomach. I knew in that moment that I was and am one with everything. I was/am the Universe, I was/am the cosmos, everything was and is inside of me.

She then said, “Feel it (the energy) return from the Earth…feel it flowing out of you…like a fire, growing higher and brighter.”* The power I felt was massive. I could feel an orb of bright, yellow light surrounding me. It was pulsating and filling the whole room. I would compare it to a lion’s mane. There were tree roots of electricity pulsing through this mane around me, sparking other fires and allowing them to burn bright.


Yasmeen then asked, “Think of the times when you knew this power…Think of the times power flowed through you…Think of those times and feel them now.”* Everything went black. Like my fire was put out. I couldn’t feel anything anymore. The sparks were gone, the energy was gone. I couldn’t think of a time in my past where I was in my power.

Then, “Your power peaks and returns, feeding the fire within…ready to expand again when your next purpose calls.”* And immediately the fire was back – burning bright, filling the room. The tree roots of electricity, the lion’s mane, the power. I could feel it all again.

After this meditation, I felt alive. I also felt confused. Why had my power gone out when asked about times in the past but come back when told that it peaks and returns now? I discussed this with Yasmeen, and she connected the dots. I have never been in my power before. I have never truly felt alive or that I was living my purpose. But now I am. Now I am completely in my power. I am serving how I was meant to serve. I am living my truth and the Universe is giving me confirmation of that.

It was one of the most beautiful, most powerful meditations I’ve ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I am incredibly grateful to Yasmeen for feeling the call to read that to me. It confirmed so much and gave me the confidence to stand in my power, to recognize my gifts, to accept who I am.


If you believe your Solar Plexus is blocked, there are ways to unblock it – to bring it back to a balanced state.

1. Get outside and do activities in the sun.

2. Try new activities and find what sparks joy within you – discover what makes you feel alive.

3. Eat yellow, starchy foods such as pineapple, squash, bananas, and beans.

4. Calmy repeat positive affirmations, such as, “I can choose in all situations, I am powerful, I make my own decisions with confidence, I accept myself unconditionally.”

Checking in with our chakras allows us to pinpoint areas in our lives that could use improvement. Acknowledgement is the first step to healing. If this post sparked interest in you, please comment or send me a message! It’s taken me a good while to step into my power and balance my Solar Plexus chakra. It won’t happen over-night, but it can happen over-time.

Are you ready to step into your power?


*The exerts of the guided meditation are from the book, "Wheels of Life" by Anodea Judith

20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page